Register of Electors  
  Presidential Elections  
  Parliamentary Elections  
  Types of Electoral Divisions  
  Map of Electoral Divisions  
Elections Results  
  »  Presidential
Elections Results
  »  Parliamentary
Elections Results
  »  Parliamentary
By-Elections Results
  • Electoral Divisions (also called constituencies) are areas within Singapore demarcated by the Prime Minister by law for the purposes of Parliamentary elections and Presidential elections.

  • Each electoral division is sub-divided into many smaller areas known as polling districts and each polling district will have its own polling station.

  • A register of electors is prepared for each electoral division.

    There are 2 types of electoral divisions or constituencies in Singapore

  • Single Member Constituencies (SMCs)
    • This is an electoral division that has a single Member of Parliament (MP) representing the interests of those residents in the constituency.
    • Thus, during a by-election in the SMC or a general election, the registered electors of the SMC will vote for a single individual to be their MP.
    • The Parliamentary Elections Act requires that there must be at least 8 SMCs at any time.
    • We currently have a total of 12 SMCs.
    • The list of SMCs today is set out below.

      SMC Name No. of Electors
      Bukit Panjang 33,820
      Hong Kah North 27,980
      Hougang 24,088
      Joo Chiat 22,418
      Mountbatten 23,519
      Pioneer 25,613
      Potong Pasir 17,468
      Punggol East 33,796
      Radin Mas 29,073
      Sengkang West 34,108
      Whampoa 20,826
      Yuhua 22,732
      Updated on 27 Mar 2014

  • Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs)
    • This is usually a larger electoral division, both in terms of population as well as physical area. A group of Members of Parliament (MPs) represents the interests of those residents in the constituency.
    • Thus, during a general election or by-election in the GRC, the registered electors of the GRC will vote for a group of individuals to be their MPs.
    • The group may be made up of 3, 4, 5 or 6 individuals. The President declares the group number for each GRC by law.
    • At least one of the MPs in the group representing a GRC must belong to a minority racial community, either the Malay community or the Indian and other minority communities.
    • By law, the President designates the GRCs whose MP must belong to one of these minority racial communities. However, the number of GRCs that can be designated as those belonging to the Malay community cannot be more than three-fifths the total number of GRCs, rounded to the next higher whole number.
    • The GRC system was established in 1988 to ensure that the minority racial communities in Singapore will always be represented in Parliament. To ensure this, the Parliamentary Elections Act requires that at least one-quarter of the total number of MPs must be representatives of GRCs.
    • Currently, there are a total of 15 GRCs, represented by a total of 75 MPs.
    • The list of GRCs today is set out below. Table A are those which the President has designated that at least one of their MPs must belong to the Malay community. Table B are those one of whose MPs must belong to the Indian or other minority communities.

      Table A
      GRC Name No. of MPs No. of Electors
      Aljunied 5 144,442
      Bishan-Toa Payoh 5 122,712
      Chua Chu Kang 5 163,687
      East Coast 5 121,763
      Marine Parade 5 151,468
      Moulmein-Kallang 4 87,661
      Pasir Ris-Punggol 6 196,350
      Sembawang 5 147,866
      Tampines 5 139,728
      Updated on 01 Apr 2014
      Table B
      GRC Name No. of MPs No. of Electors
      Ang Mo Kio 6 181,100
      Holland-Bukit Timah 4 91,242
      Jurong 5 128,243
      Nee Soon 5 154,879
      Tanjong Pagar 5 137,464
      West Coast 5 127,142
      Updated on 01 Apr 2014
  back to top