First published in the Government Gazette, Electronic Edition, on 3rd March 2006 at 6:30 pm.

No. S 147

PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS ACT (CHAPTER 218)

PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS (DESIGNATION OF GROUP REPRESENTATION CONSTITUENCIES) ORDER 2006

ARRANGEMENT OF PARAGRAPHS

Paragraph

- 1. Citation and commencement
- 2. Designation of group representation constituencies
- 3. Revocation The Schedule

In exercise of the powers conferred by section 8A(1)(b) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, the President hereby makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Parliamentary Elections (Designation of Group Representation Constituencies) Order 2006 and shall come into operation on 3rd March 2006.

Designation of group representation constituencies

2. Each group representation constituency specified —

- (a) in Part I of the Schedule is designated under section 8A (1) (b) (i) of the Act as a constituency where at least one of the candidates in each group for election therein shall be a person belonging to the Malay community; and
- (b) in Part II of the Schedule is designated under section 8A(1)(b) (ii) of the Act as a constituency where at least one of the candidates in each group for election therein shall be a person belonging to the Indian or other minority communities.

Revocation

3. The Parliamentary Elections (Designation of Group Representation Constituencies) Order (O 2) is revoked.

THE SCHEDULE

PART I

- (1) Aljunied
- (2) Bishan-Toa Payoh
- (3) East Coast
- (4) Hong Kah
- (5) Jalan Besar
- (6) Jurong
- (7) Marine Parade
- (8) Pasir Ris-Punggol
- (9) Tampines

PART II

- (1) Ang Mo Kio
- (2) Holland-Bukit Timah
- (3) Sembawang
- (4) Tanjong Pagar
- (5) West Coast.

Made this 3rd day of March 2006.

By Command,

LAU WAH MING Secretary to the Cabinet.

[ELD(A)/4-18 Vol. 3; AG/LEG/SL/218/2005/3 Vol. 1]