SINGAPORE GOVERNMENT STATEMENT

GENERAL ELECTION

1 NOMINATION DAY

Nomination Day will be on Thursday, 27 April 2006.

2 NOMINATION CENTRES

The Nomination Centres are as follows:

	Place of nomination (Nomination Centres)	Electoral Divisions
1.	Admiralty Secondary School Woodlands Crescent Singapore 737916	Nee Soon Central Nee Soon East Sembawang
2.	Bedok View Secondary School Bedok South Avenue 3 Singapore 469293	East Coast Pasir Ris-Punggol
3.	Bendemeer Primary School Bendemeer Road Singapore 339948	Jalan Besar Potong Pasir Tanjong Pagar
4.	Bukit Panjang Government High School Choa Chu Kang Avenue 4 Singapore 689809	Chua Chu Kang Hong Kah
5.	Fajar Secondary School Gangsa Road Singapore 678972	Bukit Panjang Holland-Bukit Timah
6.	Jurong Junior College Corporation Road Singapore 649809	Jurong West Coast
7.	Ngee Ann Secondary School Tampines Street 32 Singapore 529283	Hougang Tampines

Place of nomination (Nomination Centres)

Electoral Divisions

8. Pei Chun Public School Lorong 7 Toa Payoh Singapore 319320

Aljunied Ang Mo Kio Bishan-Toa Payoh Yio Chu Kang

9. Tao Nan School Marine Crescent Singapore 449761 Joo Chiat MacPherson Marine Parade

3 RETURNING OFFICER

For the General Election, the Prime Minister has appointed Mr Tan Boon Huat, Chief Executive Director of the People's Association as the Returning Officer.

The Returning Officer has declared that Saturday, 6 May 2006 is Polling Day. Polling Day is a public holiday.

4 <u>DEPOSIT BY CANDIDATE</u>

According to the Parliamentary Elections Act, the deposit per candidate is 8% of the total allowances payable to an MP in the preceding year and rounded to the nearest \$500.00. The deposit for a candidate shall, therefore, be \$13,500.00.

5 MALAY COMMUNITY AND INDIAN AND OTHER MINORITY COMMUNITIES COMMITTEES

The Parliamentary Elections (Malay Community Committee) Regulations, 1988 and the Parliamentary Elections (Indian and Other Minority Communities Committee) Regulations, 1988 stipulate that every applicant shall ensure his application for the Certificate of the Malay Community Committee or Certificate of the Indian and Other Minority Communities Committee under regulation 9 is received by the Committee not later than 2 clear days before the day of Nomination.

Nomination Day is 27 April 2006. Therefore, all applications must be submitted to the Elections Department, 11 Prinsep Link, Singapore 187949 not later than 6.00 pm on Monday, 24 April 2006.

Members of the Malay Community Committee are:

- (1) Tuan Abu Bakar Maidin (Chairman)
- (2) Tuan Maarof Salleh
- (3) Tuan Shafawi Ahmad
- (4) Tuan Iskander Abdul Jalil
- (5) Tuan Wan Hussin Zoohri

Members of the Indian and Other Minority Communities Committee are:

- (1) Mr Gopinath Pillai (Chairman)
- (2) Mr Kaisavapany s/o Krishnasamy
- (3) Mr Rudolph William Robert Mosbergen
- (4) Mr Francis Joachim D'Costa
- (5) Mr Kirpal Ram Vij s/o Devi Dial

6 POLITICAL DONATION CERTIFICATE

Every candidate shall submit, together with his nomination paper and other necessary documents, a Political Donation Certificate issued by the Registrar of Political Donations under section 18(4) of the Political Donations Act. Application for the Certificate shall be made by submitting, in person or through an authorised representative, a pre-election donation report (Form 3) and a pre-election declaration (Form 4) to the Registrar of Political Donations at his office at the Elections Department, 11 Prinsep Link, Singapore 187949 not later than 6.00 pm on 24 April 2006.

For further information, please visit the website of the Registry of Political Donations at www.elections.gov.sg.

PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE 20 April 2006