PRESS RELEASE

NOMINATION DAY PROCEDURES GENERAL ELECTIONS 2006

On Nomination Day, 27 April 2006, between 11:00 am to 12:00 noon, candidates are to submit the following documents to the Returning Officer at the respective Nomination Centre (please see the list of Nomination Centres attached):

- (a) Nomination Paper (together with Statutory Declaration) (Form 9 or 9A) (in duplicate);
- (b) Name for Ballot Paper;
- (c) Appointment of Election Agent(s) (and Principal Election Agent);
- (d) Particulars of Election Agent(s) (and Principal Election Agent);
- (e) Appointment of One Other Person (if any) to attend Nomination Centre proceedings;
- (f) Political Donation Certificate from the Registrar of Political Donations;
- (g) Certificate of the Malay Community Committee or the Indian and Other Minority Communities Committee, as applicable (for Group Representation Constituency only); and
- (h) Election deposit in cash, cashier's order, bank draft or an election deposit receipt issued by the Accountant-General. The deposit is \$13,500.00 for each candidate.

The Nomination Centre will be opened from 10.00 am and the Nomination Room will be opened from 10.30 am.

2 The following persons <u>must be present</u> in person in the Nomination Room for the filing of nomination(s):

- (a) Candidates
- (b) Proposers
- (c) Seconders
- (d) At least 4 assentors per candidate or group of candidates

The proposers, seconders, assentors must be registered electors from the constituency that the candidate(s) is/are contesting in.

3 The requirement, that the candidate/group of candidates must be accompanied by his/her/their proposer, seconder and at least four assentors, is to facilitate corrections of any particulars in the nomination papers as well as to prevent any insertion of particulars or forging of signatures of any registered elector in the papers without the elector's knowledge. Candidates will also be allowed to correct any errors or omissions, including blanks and errors in numbers, in their Nomination Form before nominations close at 12.00 noon.

4 Apart from Elections Staff and persons authorized in writing by the Returning Officer, one other person appointed (in writing) by each candidate <u>may also be present</u> in the Nomination Room.

5 The subscribers (proposers, seconders, assentors, and one other person) will not be allowed entry into the Nomination Room unless accompanied by their candidate(s). <u>Candidates, and subscribers are reminded to bring along their NRIC for identification purposes</u>. Supporters of the candidates <u>shall not</u> be allowed into the Nomination Room.

6 Mobile phones and any forms of recording device **<u>shall not be used</u>** within the Nomination Room.

7 The time for objections is from 11 am to 12.30 pm. Only the candidate/groups of candidates contesting in a constituency and their subscribers can lodge objections against their opposing candidate/group of candidates contesting in that same constituency.

8 If only one set of nomination papers for a constituency are accepted by 12.00 noon when nominations close, the Returning Officer will make an announcement of the name(s) of the candidate/group of candidates who submitted the nomination papers and declare this candidate/group of candidates to be elected.

9 If more than one set of nomination papers for a constituency are accepted and are valid after objections close at 12.30 pm, the Returning Officer will announce the names of the candidates/group of candidates and adjourn the elections to enable a poll to be taken on 6 May 2006.

ELECTIONS DEPARTMENT PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE 25 APRIL 2006

	Nomination Centres	Electoral Divisions
1.	Admiralty Secondary School Woodlands Crescent Singapore 737916	Nee Soon Central Nee Soon East Sembawang
2.	Bedok View Secondary School Bedok South Avenue 3 Singapore 469293	East Coast Pasir Ris-Punggol
3.	Bendemeer Primary School Bendemeer Road Singapore 339948	Jalan Besar Potong Pasir Tanjong Pagar
4.	Bukit Panjang Government High School Choa Chu Kang Avenue 4 Singapore 689809	Chua Chu Kang Hong Kah
5.	Fajar Secondary School Gangsa Road Singapore 678972	Bukit Panjang Holland-Bukit Timah
6.	Jurong Junior College Corporate Road Singapore 649809	Jurong West Coast
7.	Ngee Ann Secondary School Tampines Street 32 Singapore 529283	Hougang Tampines
8.	Pei Chun Public School Lorong 7 Toa Payoh Singapore 319320	Aljunied Ang Mo Kio Bishan-Toa Payoh Yio Chu Kang
9.	Tao Nan School Marine Crescent Singapore 449761	Joo Chiat MacPherson Marine Parade