ELECTIONS DEPARTMENT'S PRESS STATEMENT

The names of persons who failed to cast their votes at the Poll on 6 May 2006 for the last General Election will be expunged from the Registers of Electors. The list of such persons will be available for inspection from 28 June 2006 onwards at the Elections Department and designated community centres/clubs listed in Annex A.

- Electors who failed to vote at the last General Election can apply to restore their names to the Registers of Electors using a prescribed application form (known as Form A) which can be obtained from the Elections Department, any community centre/club or any Singapore overseas diplomatic mission during their normal business hours. Alternatively, the application form can be downloaded from the Elections Department website at www.elections.gov.sg.
- The duly completed application forms should be returned, by post or fax, to the Registration Officer, Elections Department, 11 Prinsep Link, Singapore 187949. The fax number is 63323428.
- 4 Applicants are required to produce documentary evidence to substantiate their inability to vote. An applicant's name will be restored without penalty if he has good and sufficient reason for not recording his vote. The penalty is \$5.
- The lists of electors in polling districts AJ24 and AJ25 of Aljunied Group Representation Constituency (GRC) who failed to cast their votes will be published later. The lists cannot be prepared now because the "marked copies of the Registers of Electors" for these 2 polling districts (which show the names of electors who have cast their votes on Polling Day) were inadvertently placed together with the counted ballot papers and other documents by the staff at the Xinghua Primary School Counting Centre in the ballot boxes and sealed therein.
- In accordance with the Parliamentary Elections Act, all the sealed boxes containing ballot papers and other documents relating to the election are now kept in the vault of the Supreme Court pending destruction at the end of 6 months after the poll (i.e. from 6 November 2006). During the 6 months' period, only a Judge of the High Court can order the sealed boxes to be opened and even then it can only be for the purpose of instituting or maintaining a prosecution or an application to invalidate an election. At the end of the 6 months after the poll, the contents of the ballot boxes must all be destroyed unless otherwise directed by Order of the President.
- 7 The President has by Order directed the Returning Officer to retrieve only the "marked copies of the Registers of Electors" for polling districts AJ24 and AJ25

of Aljunied GRC on 6 November 2006 or thereafter for the purpose of preparing the lists of electors in these 2 polling districts who failed to vote at the General Election 2006. The President has also directed that these "marked copies of the registers of Electors" are to be destroyed by the Returning Officer not later than 30 days from the date of their retrieval from the boxes.

8 The lists of non-voters in polling districts AJ24 and AJ25 of Aljunied GRC will therefore be published for inspection on or after 6 November 2006. Electors in these polling districts can then apply in the same manner to have their names restored to the register of electors.

ELECTIONS DEPARTMENT 28 JUNE 2006

ANNEX A

	ELECTORAL DIVISIONS	PLACES OF INSPECTION
1	Aljunied	Aljunied Community Centre
		Hougang Avenue 1
		Ci Yuan Community Centre
		Hougang Avenue 4
		Eunos Community Club
		Bedok Reservoir Road
		Paya Lebar Kovan Community Club
		Hougang Street 21
		Punggol Community Club
		Hougang Avenue 6
		The Serangoon
		Serangoon North Avenue 2
2	Ang Mo Kio	Anchorvale Community Centre
		Sengkang East Way
		Cheng San Community Club
		Ang Mo Kio Street 53
		Hwi Yoh Community Centre
		Serangoon North Avenue 4
		Kebun Baru Community Club
		Ang Mo Kio Avenue 4
		Nee Soon South Community Club
		Yishun Street 81
		Teck Ghee Community Club
		Ang Mo Kio Avenue 10
3	Bukit Panjang	Bukit Panjang Community Club
		Pending Road
4	Chua Chu Kang	Chua Chu Kang Community Club
		Teck Whye Avenue
5	East Coast	Bedok Community Centre
		New Upper Changi Road
		Changi Simei Community Club
		Simei Street 2
		Fengshan Community Club
		Bedok North Street 2
		Kampong Chai Chee Community Centre
		Bedok North Avenue 1

	ELECTORAL DIVISIONS	PLACES OF INSPECTION
		Siglap Community Centre
		Bedok South Avenue 3
6	Hougang	Hougang Community Club
		Hougang Avenue 3
7	Jalan Besar	Bukit Ho Swee Community Centre
		Jalan Bukit Ho Swee
		Geylang West Community Club
		Upper Boon Keng Road
		Jalan Besar Community Club
		Jellicoe Road
		Kallang Community Club
		Boon Keng Road
		Kampong Glam Community Club
		Beach Road
		Kim Seng Community Centre
		Havelock Road
		Kolam Ayer Community Club
		Geylang Bahru
		Kreta Ayer Community Club
		Kreta Ayer Road
		Telok Ayer Hong Lim Green Community Centre
		Upper Pickering Street
		Whampoa Community Club
		Whampoa Drive
8	Joo Chiat	Joo Chiat Community Club
		Joo Chiat Road
		Siglap South Community Centre
		Palm Road
9	MacPherson	MacPherson Community Club
		Paya Lebar Way
10	Nee Soon Central	Nee Soon Central Community Centre
		Yishun Street 72
11	Nee Soon East	Nee Soon East Community Club
		Yishun Avenue 9
12	Pasir Ris-Punggol	Pasir Ris East Community Club
		Pasir Ris Drive 4
		Pasir Ris Elias Community Club
		Pasir Ris Drive 3
		Punggol Park Community Centre
		Hougang Avenue 10
	<u> </u>	

	ELECTORAL DIVISIONS	PLACES OF INSPECTION
		Rivervale Community Centre
		Rivervale Drive
		Sengkang Community Club
		Sengkang Square
13	Potong Pasir	Potong Pasir Community Club
		Potong Pasir Avenue 2
14	Sembawang	ACE The Place Community Centre
		Woodlands Drive 16
		Admiral Garden Community Centre
		Woodlands Ring Road
		Canberra Community Centre
		Sembawang Close
		Chong Pang Community Club
		Yishun Ring Road
		Fuchun Community Club
		Woodlands Street 31
		Marsiling Community Club
		Admiralty Road
		Sembawang Community Club
		Sembawang Road
		Woodlands Community Club
		Woodlands Street 81
15	Tampines	Tampines Central Community Club
		Tampines Street 83
		Tampines Changkat Community Club
		Tampines Street 11
		Tampines East Community Club
		Tampines Street 23
		Tampines West Community Club
		Tampines Avenue 3
		Tampines North Community Club
		Tampines Street 41
16	Yio Chu Kang	Ang Mo Kio Community Centre
		Ang Mo Kio Avenue 1
		Yio Chu Kang Community Club
		Ang Mo Kio Street 61