MEDIA RELEASE

ELECTION OF NON-CONSTITUENCY MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT IN GENERAL ELECTION 2025

According to the Parliamentary Elections Act 1954 ("Act"), the number of Non-Constituency Members of Parliament (NCMPs) to be declared elected at any General Election is 12, less the number of Opposition MPs elected. These NCMPs shall be determined from amongst the candidates of the opposition parties contesting in the election, with the candidate receiving the highest percentage of votes being placed first, followed by the other candidates in descending order based on the percentage of votes polled by them. (Details are spelt out in Section 52 of the Act.)

- 2 As 10 Opposition MPs were elected to Parliament in the 2025 General Election, two candidates who received the highest votes amongst the unelected candidates from the opposition parties shall be declared elected as NCMPs.
- 3 Mr Low Wu Yang Andre (The Workers' Party), who contested in Jalan Kayu Single Member Constituency, received the highest percentage of votes amongst the unelected opposition candidates.
- The group of candidates from The Workers' Party who contested in the Tampines Group Representation Constituency received the second highest percentage of votes amongst the unelected opposition candidates. They are Ms Eileen Chong Pei Shan, Mr Muhamad Faisal Bin Abdul Manap, Dr Ong Lue Ping, Mr Tan Khim Teck and Mr Michael Thng Quan Wei. The Returning Officer wrote to the group on 9 May 2025 and asked the group to determine amongst themselves, by 19 May 2025, the candidate to be declared elected as NCMP. The group informed the Returning Officer on 18 May 2025 of their decision to nominate **Ms Eileen Chong Pei Shan** as the candidate to be declared elected as NCMP.
- Based on the above, in accordance with Section 52 of the Act, the Returning Officer has declared the following candidates as the candidates elected as NCMPs: Mr Low Wu Yang Andre (The Workers' Party) and Ms Eileen Chong Pei Shan (The Workers' Party).

ISSUED BY ELECTIONS DEPARTMENT PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE

19 May 2025