Any Singapore citizen residing overseas who satisfies the qualifying criteria may apply to the Elections Department to be registered as an overseas elector to cast his vote at one of the 10 overseas polling stations. Besides the overseas polling station that is allotted to him, the person will also be allotted a polling station in Singapore during an election, where he can go to cast his vote if he is back in Singapore on Polling Day.

The overseas polling stations are located within 10 designated Singapore High Commissions, Embassies or Consulates in countries/cities where there is a significant number of Singaporeans.

During an election, the date and hours of the overseas polls will be published in the Singapore Government Gazette and announced through the Singapore media, as well as the websites of the Elections Department and Overseas Missions that serve as overseas polling stations.

Every overseas elector is allowed to vote only once during an election either at the overseas polling station or local polling station that has been allotted to him. Any overseas elector who goes to vote at the local polling station allotted to him will be required to make a declaration that he had not voted in the same election before he can be issued with a ballot paper.

Last updated: 24 May 2017